Fictitious New Track for Skat Kat

11 May

There aren’t twelve songs by MC Skat Kat (and the Stray Mob), but thirteen, with the inclusion of Get a Grip, which I have on the LP version of Skat Strut from the UK. I wondered if there’d be any more rap songs I wouldn’t mind listening to. As my father once told me, “Why don’t you write a song?” And looky here, I came up with a new song for the rapping cat: House Kat.

Yo, Leo, you know what time it is?

(Leo: What?)

(Skat Kat, Fatz, and Taboo: It’s time for home improvement!)

Skat Kat is back in action! Sorry to keep you waitin’.

Life in the streets isn’t always bad, find a happy place so you don’t get mad.

Dumpsters, alleys, wherever you wish, as long as you can grub some tasty fish. (Fatz: Yum!)

Me? I’m a cat who hopes for the best, looking for a place just to chill and rest.

The Mob could use a little R and R – it’s tiring to back up this rapping star. (Fatz: You said it.)

Where will I live? Where will I go? Not having a house will bring me woe.

Real estate would be my final resort for a crib for me and my cohorts.

Sure, my old place is fine and standing, but the tattered walls leave me demanding

something better, something phat. I need a new home – I am the House Kat.

(House Kat, livin’ it up across the street)

(House Kat. Give him a home that can’t be beat)

(House Kat, livin’ it up across the street)

(House Kat. Give him a home that can’t be beat)

If I were Mister Rogers, I’d change my shoes, greeting other neighbors who have heard the news

of Skat Kat living in a humble abode, unless I’m in the limo out on the road.

Home is where the heart is, that’s what I hear, so lemme get it pumpin’ when I come near.

I’ll make you move and jump around so the floorboards get that thumpin’ sound.

What a place, ain’t no way that we’re ditchin’ –  livin’ room, dinin’ room, rec room, kitchen,

bedrooms, bathrooms, backyard, too. A three-car garage would excite Taboo. (Taboo: Yeauh!)

It’s all we need to kick back and unwind. Now try to remember, keep it in mind.

It’s something better, something phat. This is a home for me, the House Kat.

(House Kat, livin’ it up across the street)

(House Kat. Give him a home that can’t be beat)

(House Kat, livin’ it up across the street)

(House Kat. Give him a home that can’t be beat)

(Beat box break)

(Micetro: That’s it! Keep it up, big boy! Don’t mind me – I’m setting up a mouse hole in the wall. And Silk, you can come visit me anytime.)

(Silk: Thanks, but I’m too big to fit through a mouse hole.)

(Micetro: Ah, c’mon, I’ll make it bigger for ya-)

Don’t even think of it, Micetro. You’ve done just enough damage to the home.

(Micetro: Whatever.)

To get this house I had to pay, but don’t think that won’t make us stray.

We are who we are, we’ll never change, we just keep rollin’ like chuggin’ trains.

Don’t put my name on the sliding gate, or fans will set up camp and wait.

This is our hideout, who woulda guessed? Suburban livin’, more for less.

I gotta work to pay these bills by rapping and dancing, greater thrills. (Katleen: Greater thriiiiills!)

A cat’s home really is his castle, but owning a big one? What a hassle!

We need no money to score us a mansion – it’s all about my being, didn’t I mention?

It’s something better, something phat, it’s all too much for this House Kat.

(House Kat, livin’ it up across the street) On the prairie… on the range…

(House Kat. Give him a home that can’t be beat) By the beach… nothing strange…

(House Kat, livin’ it up across the street) Skat Kat doesn’t need a penthouse…

(House Kat. Give him a home that can’t be beat) Just his feline friends and mouse…

(House Kat, livin’ it up across the street)

(House Kat. Give him a home that can’t be beat)

(Fade out)

So what do you think? All done in true Skat Kat style. It could probably use some fine-tuning. What matters to me the most is that the lyrics must be clean.

9 Responses to “Fictitious New Track for Skat Kat”

  1. MARK August 31, 2015 at 12:15 am #

    AW MAN I CAN’t wait to hear this!!

    • signorino06 August 31, 2015 at 12:25 am #

      I hate to put a damper on this thing, but this is more of a fan-made song I wrote. I figured no one ever bothered to do any Skat Kat fan fiction and such, so I took a crack at it. I should probably mention that I am not, in any way, involved with the people responsible for working on the MC Skat Kat body of work. I’m really sorry to disappoint you, but it sure is nice to know there are people who appreciate the rapping cat!

  2. MARK September 7, 2015 at 8:57 pm #

    IM SORRY I HAD U WAITING I JUST COULDN’T UNDERSTAND WHY U PUT A DAMPER ON THIS THING WHATS WRONG SIGNORINOO6???

  3. MARK October 1, 2015 at 9:01 pm #

    About this rapping cat THAT IM LISTENING TO IS SURPER AWESOME MAN!!!

  4. MARK October 1, 2015 at 9:04 pm #

    ALSO I THINK HE WILL BE AWESOME to see him and his posse on DISNEY!!!!😍😍😍😉😉😉😉😉

  5. MARK October 1, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

    I’m listening to GET A GRIP AND I THOUHT IT WAS SWEET HIP HOP YO!!!!!

  6. MARK October 12, 2015 at 1:00 am #

    At least I still love the rapping cat will he make more songs and videos I love the MUSIC VIDEOS!!! MORE music videos PLEASE!!! 😉

  7. MARK October 18, 2015 at 11:45 pm #

    STILL I LOVED TO HEAR THIS SONG!!!

  8. MARK April 3, 2016 at 10:52 pm #

    THE MAGIC ISN’t GONE YET PEOPLE LOVE MC SKAT KAT! So do I!

Leave a Reply

